SFJazz Collective’s 10th Anniversary at Jazz Standard

Wednesday March 19, 2014

The SF Jazz Collective kicks off their 10th anniversary tours with 5 nights at the Jazz Standard in NoMad.

The San Francisco Jazz Collective is celebrating its 10th anniversary by kicking off a national tour with five nights at the Jazz Standard.

The anniversary tour features material from each of the Collective’s tribute composers: Stevie Wonder, Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock, Thelonious Monk, Wayne Shorter, McCoy Tyner, Horace Silver, Ornette Coleman and John Coltrane.

Richard Scheinin of the San Jose Mercury News aptly describes the collective as “a bellwether band in jazz, looking ahead as it consolidates past trends . . . the group sums up jazz’s growing international profile; its members are from Venezuela, Puerto Rico, Israel and New Zealand, as well as Baltimore, Philadelphia and Miami.”

The band consists of Avishai Cohen on trumpet, Miguel Zenon on alto sax, David Sanchez on tenor sax, Robin Eubanks on trombone, Warren Wolf on vibraphone, Edward Simon on piano, Matt Penman on bass, and Obed Calvaire on drums.

The collective will play sets at 7:30 p.m. and 9:30 p.m. tonight through Sunday, with additional 11:30 p.m. sets on Friday and Saturday. Tickets cost $35 per set and can be purchased here.

View all Headlines